Rusted Rhubarb

the ramblings and growth of a fiber artist who likes to take pictures

A bit about me June 29, 2007

Filed under: family — rustedrhubarb @ 10:35 am

For many years I was a stay at home mom, girl scout leader, school volunteer, substitute teacher.  All because I wanted to be available and close to these guys:

daughter 

Now I work semi-part/full time (I get to set my own hours) and am available for these guys while still working on my art.

Neither kid considers themselves “creative” but I disagree…. they are very creative when they want to be… remember your teen years?   The above photos proove that.. she’s wanting her picture taken, but not by mom.. so she is silly.  He’s wanting his picture taken, but running at full speed… ha! I bought a faster camera! gotcha!

 I get such a joy out of seeing them watch me “work” at my art. 

The boy loves to help me dye fabric and takes a scientific approach to understanding the molecules and how they attack and attach themselves to the fiber and now just a bit more water or less time and heat will really alter the final product.  He also gets a kick out of seeing the sewing machine wiz through and alter the texture and form of fabric. 

The girl will go through my sewing books when I’m not around (she doesn’t want an audience..she’s shy like that) and will take it to her room only opening the door to ask for various supplies or requesting a trip to the local Walmart/Michael’s/fabric store for just the right color/thread/something or other.  I never know what she’s working on and I don’t get to see it until it’s finished.  Lately, she’s turning into a night owl and will either bring me the finished product at my bedside as I’m drifting off to sleep (and have no light in which to view it.. but at 15 she’s fine with me exclaiming how “cool” it is in the dark), or I will awake in the morning to see a new “creation” by my bedside.

I love my job.

 

3 Responses to “A bit about me”

  1. Your daughter looks like you! I’m so envious. The boy I can relate to. Frankly, I can’t believe you’re old enough to have kids this age. I figured you to be a lot younger than I am and I’m not NEARLY old enough (*clears throat*).

    You have a great job and it’s wonderful that you know it. Maybe I’m a bad mom for not posting a picture of my fellas on my blog? Oh great, guilt.

  2. Michelle C Says:

    hehehe.. I get that alot..she’s my “mini me”. All I’ll say about age is I feel like a 21 yr old at times.. but I had my first at 25!

    I was debating about sharing images of them.. internet can be crazy ya know..

    I’ve seen your boys somewhere.. in your art? they are adorable and I give you a standing “O” for having 2 at once! hehehe

  3. Susie Monday Says:

    I love seeing the pictures of your kids and reading about your life right now. What’s the parttime job?


Leave a Reply

