Rusted Rhubarb

the ramblings and growth of a fiber artist who likes to take pictures

What I’ve been up to… September 24, 2007

Filed under: apron,onesie,sewing — rustedrhubarb @ 9:19 pm
Tags: ,

I’ve been working full time, helping the daughter start her own ebay biz, harping on the son to mow the grass, you know…. life.

As I go through the daily grind of living I’m still thinking of my aprons and how I can create and manipulate the various found fabrics that I love so much and make them “mine”.  This 40 yr old tom-girl, loves to create girly things…

So, here’s what I’ve been playing with and creating:

 

denim skirt chopped up, vintage decor floral fabric applied as trim, vintage doily (hiding on the other side), as well as some beading!

now this is my new favorite!  It’s from an old Mexican dress, overdyed commercial fabric, overdyed vintage table cloth, and an over dyed table doily, and of course vintage mother of pearl buttons!

and a close up:

and something my daughter and I are also working on.. It’s in the beginning stages now:

 

all will be available on my etsy soon..

 

10 Responses to “What I’ve been up to…”

  1. What gorgeous aprons and a cute onesie!!! Just found your site, defintely going to keep reading.

  2. […] September 24th, 2007 in aprons, domestic divaness, sewing Tags: aprons These are so gorgeous and will be for sale here […]

  3. jennbenn Says:

    Love your aprons and onsies. They rock!
    jenn

  4. sarahmasciana Says:

    I absolutely love the textures and details. Really nice work!

  5. jane powell Says:

    Hello Michelle,
    Yes, come visit Saluda. We NEVER get snow, just ice sometimes in the winter. You never know what could happen here. Love the onesie. Right now I need some inspiration for Aprons…. You are the person to inspire me. Many thanks.
    Jane

  6. Beautiful! PLease add it to the Apronista Flickr group!

  7. amandajean Says:

    I love your aprons! so beautiful and original. nice job!

  8. All the old stuff I wore as a child is coming back. Kinda scary and makes you feel old, but it looks great most of the time.

  9. Elaine Kerr Says:

    Really like how you’ve used the edge of the coth in the second apron from the top. Sew, sew pretty!

  10. With the 70s and 80s back in style, I just loving vintage clothing from the thrift shops. You can find designers like Chanel and Armani for cheap there. Ebay is great too!


Leave a Reply

