Rusted Rhubarb

the ramblings and growth of a fiber artist who likes to take pictures

How I spend my Sundays October 1, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — rustedrhubarb @ 8:57 pm

I spend my free time sitting at the sewing machine, or standing at the ironing board, or sitting at the dining room table (turned sewing table) with the tv on listening to any of the Law and Orders that can be found on USA.

 Of course life interrupts my zen like sewing and creating in the form of teenagers and every so often I’ll stop and drive someone to work, give money to someone who needs it for the corner store, remind someone who is headed to the pool to take a towel, remind someone that the grass only grows by it’s self, it doesn’t get cut on it’s own, remind someone the dishes need emptying out of the dishwasher… you get the picture. 

Sunday I was lucky enough to bring these to life amoung the distractions:

Earthy Blue Apron – made with two recycled dresses, overdyed commercial fabric, new buttons, and a vintage crochet piece from a found table runner.

 

Baby Gift set which includes: blanket, long sleeve onesie, and large burp cloth (or changing pad).  Made with Amy Butler fabric (all new materials), the blanket is lined with oh so soft chenille like fabric which is a PIA to sew on.  If I make more of these, I need to learn how it moves, for it likes to swim under my sewing needle and create a life of it’s own.  You can see the white chenille in the last photo under the turned up edge of the blanket.  I think I’m not showing it because at this moment, I don’t like it very much (the fabric that is)

Well, I was thinking of offering these up on etsy, but now I’m thinking I should just keep sewing and creating and aim for the local one day Arts and Crafts Fair that this town I live in offers in December.  If I don’t get in, I’ll be over at etsy w/in no time.. if I do get in and sell nothing, I’ll be at etsy.. if I get in and sell everything, I’ll be so excited and motivated and inspired to make more, so eventually I’ll be at etsy anyways.. It’s just a “wait and see” thing now.

I would love to have a booth.. it’d be my first of any kind.. but that “fear” is there.  I wrote the name down yesterday of the contact I need.  Now I just have to pick up the phone and call… ok, I’ll do it.  ;o)

 

2 Responses to “How I spend my Sundays”

  1. Go for it! Just do it! Okay, I am out of slogans but you get the idea. 🙂 Having seen the fabrics used on adult items it is refreshing to see them for wee ones and they look great! Love the apron, but you knew I would say that…now pick up the phone and call that lady.

  2. rustedrhubarb Says:

    thanks southern girl!! I am motivated to do it, but still haven’t called.. sigh.


Leave a Reply

